Telegraph Sports Book Awards 2020: Shortlists revealed for this year’s categories

England Rugby coach Eddie Jones’s My Life and Rugby and recently re-appointed British Lions coach Warren Gatland’s Pride and Passion will renew an old rivalry as they compete for the Rugby Writers Book of the Year at The Telegraph Sports Book Awards 2020.

Shortlists for this year’s awards have been announced today, with winners announced online on July 15.

Also shortlisted in the rugby category are David Beresford’s book Brothers in Arms, an account of Rugby, life & friendship in France, up against Welsh Legend Sam Warburton’s personal exploration, Open Side. In a strong year for Wales, Ross Harries’ Behind the Dragon delivers an excellent history of Welsh rugby. Enigmatic Welsh international Glenn Webbe’s autobiography, Glenn Webbe: The Gloves are Off, concludes the shortlist. 

Eddie Jones, reflecting on his nomination, said: “I am so pleased that our book has been nominated for Rugby Book of the Year at The Telegraph Sports Book Awards 2020. I’d like to wish all the other books in the shortlist the best, and whoever wins, I’m sure it will be a just result. Thank you for the nomination.” 

The Football Book of the Year award features six outstanding books, selected once again by the Football Writers’ Association.

The Telegraph Sports Autobiography of the Year shortlist was revealed in May, and features a diverse group of sports people, including world heavyweight champion, Tyson Fury, World Cup- winning cricketer Ben Stokes and England’s leading all-time wicket taker James Anderson, England footballing-legend Eniola Aluko, the racing driver Jason Plato, as well as former Liverpool and England footballers Michael Owen and Emile Heskey. 

Ben Stokes, who renews his playing career with England in July said: “I’m delighted to be shortlisted for the Sports Autobiography of the Year Award at The Telegraph Sports Book of the Year Awards 2020, and in such fantastic company.” 

Full details of all nominees can be found here.

The Telegraph Sports Book Awards 2020 winners will be digitally announced next month. The online announcement will replace the traditional celebration at Lord’s Cricket Ground. 

More Stories
Joel Greenberg to plead guilty as lawyer says ‘Matt Gaetz is not feeling very comfortable today’